The Microcirculatory Society Pre-Meeting Session at the American Physiology Summit 2023

MCS Pre-Meeting Sessions: April 20, 2023 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

American Physiology Summit Sessions: April 20, 4:00 PM - April 23, 12:30 PM 


MCS Pre-Meeting Program:

Thursday, April 20 - All MCS Symposia will be held in Ballroom II of the Long Beach Convention Center.

8:00 – 9:30: Emerging Topics in Microcirculation
Chairs: Erika Boerman (University of Missouri) and Andreas Beyer (Medical College of Wisconsin)
  • Capillary pericytes as metabolic sentinels in the control of brain blood flow. Tom Longden, University of Maryland School of Medicine
  • Modulation of the lymphatic vasculature in progression of liver pathogenesis. Sanjukta Chakraborty, Texas A&M University Health Science Center
  • 3D Wall Shear Stress Characteristics in Angiogenic Microvascular Networks through Red Blood Cell-Resolved Modeling. Peter Balogh, New Jersey Institute of Technology
  • Perivascular adipose tissue drives vascular dysfunction in inflammatory bowel disease. Erika Boerman, University of Missouri
  • Renal lymphatics and their impact on kidney inflammation. Joseph Rutkowski, Texas A&M University Health Science Center


15-minute break


9:45 – 11:15: Gabor Kaley Award Featured Topic: Endothelial Cell Biology in Health and Disease
Chair: Patricia D’Amore
  • MiR-433-3p Inhibition Alleviates Increased Endothelial Cell Permeability in Diabetes. Anita Kovacs-Kasa, Augusta University Health
  • Impact of PCSK9 on endothelial efferocytosis in vascular aging. Zufeng Ding, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
  • The impact of aging on pulmonary microvascular endothelial cell barrier function. Aminmohamed Manji, Western University
  • Endothelial expression of iron transporters is dependent on contact with smooth muscle. Luke Dunaway, University of Virginia
  • Attenuated hyaluronan synthesis impairs glycocalyx integrity and leads to arterial dysfunction. Jisok Lim, University of Utah
  • Skeletal muscle-derived extracellular vesicles contribute to post-exercise hypotension. Anjali Bhat, University of Nebraska Medical Center
90-minute break for lunch


12:45 – 2:15: President’s Symposium: Micro-Lymphatics as Mediators of Tissue Homeostasis
Chairs: Jerome Breslin (University of South Florida) and Pooneh Bagher (University of Nebraska Medical Center)
  • The Role of Epsins and MiR22 in Lymphatic Development and Disease. Hong Chen, Harvard Medical School
  • Obesity and Lymphatic Dysfunction: Structural and Molecular Modifications. Jorge Castorena, Tulane University
  • Lymphatics, Blood Vessels, Tissue Engineering, and Cancer: Connections in the Microcirculation. W. Lee Murfee, University of Florida
15-minute break


2:30 - 4:00: MCS Trainee Flash Talks: The Microcirculation From Head to Toe
Chairs: Frankie Hu (University of Florida), Jamie Meegan (Vanderbilt University Medical Center), Reetu Singh (Texas A&M University), Liping Zhang (University of Missouri)
Presentations listed below. Speakers marked *.
  • Regulation of Blood-Brain Barrier Endothelial Cell Hyperpermeability by NLRP3 Inflammasome Inhibition - Aliyah Anderson* (Morehouse School of Medicine), O'lisa Yaa Waithe, Saravanakumar Muthusamy, Gabriela Seplovich, Oluwatoyin Olagunju, Binu Tharakan.
  • Role of potassium ion diffusion from neurons to capillaries in neurovascular coupling: effects of astrocytic endfeet geometry - Sara Djurich* (University of Arizona), Timothy Secomb.
  • Homocysteine-induced Barrier Dysfunction and Hyperpermeability in the Blood-Brain and Blood-Retinal Barrier: Role of NLRP3 Inflammasome Pathway - O'Lisa Yaa Waithe* (Morehouse School of Medicine), Saravanakumar Muthusamy, Aliyah Anderson, Travis Hein,  Ed Childs, Binu Tharakan.
  • Regulation of endothelial cell mitochondrial phenotype by mechanosensitive ion channel TRPV4 - Kesha Dalal* (The University of Toledo), Venkatesh Katari, Sailaja Paruchuri,  Charles Thodeti.
  • Upregulation of endothelial DRP1 promotes a pathological vasodilation mechanism in response to flow-induced dilation - Cristhian Gutierrez Huerta* (Medical College of Wisconsin), Erin Birch, Shelby Hader, Amanda LeBlanc, David Guterrman, Andreas Beyer.
  • Cell-free hemoglobin-mediated oxidation of low-density lipoprotein (oxLDL) contributes to lung microvascular endothelial dysfunction during sepsis - Jamie Meegan* (Vanderbilt University Medical Center), Lorraine Ware, Julie Bastarache.
  • Creating the Phenotype of Preeclamptic Endothelial Dysfunction in Placental Vessels - Rosinda De La Pena* (Medical College of Wisconsin), David Gutterman, Curt Sigmund, Jennifer McIntosh.
  • Three-Dimensional Shear Stress Characteristics in Angiogenic Microvascular Networks Revealed Through Red Blood Cell-Resolved Modeling Based on Real Image Data - Mir Md Nasim Hossain* (New Jersey Institute of Technology), Nien-Wen Hu, Walter Murfee, Peter Balogh.
  • Short-chain fatty acids of the intestinal microbiota reduce mesenteric lymphatic pumping -  Reetu Singh* (Texas A&M University), Cristine Heaps, Mariappan Muthuchamy, Randolph Stewart, Glen Laine, Ranjeet Dongaonkar.
  • Microvascular Function in Skeletal Muscle of Acute Adiponectin Knockout Mice - Steven Medarev* (Florida State University College of Medicine), Madikay Faal, Andy Asher, Cole Smith, Muhammad Qasim, Jasen Belenko,  Dylan Hendrickson, Logan Mitchell, Jayden Ojah-Maharaj, Victor Faynberg, Nicole Cannon, Judy Muller-Delp.
  • Nitric oxide-mediated vasodilation in tibial bone in young healthy individuals - Adina Draghici* (Harvard Medical School|Spaulding Rehabilitation Hospital), Matthew Ely, J. Andrew Taylor.
  • Systemic Mapping of Organ Plasma Extravasation Post Myocardial Infarction - Oliver Kitzerow* (University of Nebraska Medical Center), Paul Suber, Shukry Mohanad, Irving Zucker, Hanjun Wan.


Friday, April 21 - Poster Session with Wine and Cheese

The Microcirculatory Society posters and late-breaking posters will be featured on April 21, 2023 in the PhysioHub. Posters should be hung by 9:00 AM.  The presentation time will be from 5:00 PM – 6:30 PM. Posters must be removed by 7:00 PM. 


Please also visit the MCS Booth (#503) located in the PhysioHub! Bring your friends who may be interested in joining!


American Physiology Summit Website Link

Poster Guidelines Link


2023 MCS Pre-Meeting Session Organizers (in alphabetical order):
Andreas Beyer – Medical College of Wisconsin
Erika Boerman – University of Missouri
Jerome Breslin – University of South Florida
Sanjukta Chakraborty – Texas A&M University Health Science Center
Osama Harraz – University of Vermont
Frankie Hu – University of Florida
Julie Leonard-Duke – University of Virginia
Jamie Meegan – Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Galina Mironova – University of Western Ontario
W. Lee Murfee – University of Florida
Joseph Rutkowski – Texas A&M University Health Science Center
Janaka Senarathna – Johns Hopkins University
Reetu Singh – Texas A and M University
Sonia Taib – Toronto General Hospital Research Institute
Sara Nunes Vasconcelos – University of Toronto
Camilla Wenceslau – University of South Carolina
Sherry Yang – University of South Florida
Liping Zhang – University of Missouri