August Krogh Young Investigator Award

Named in honor of microcirculatory scientist August Krogh, who received the Nobel Prize in 1920 for the first descriptions of blood flow control through capillaries and arterioles based on tissue oxygen demand, this annual award is intended for a graduate student or a Ph.D./M.D. in the early stages of a research career. This award is presented to encourage excellence in microcirculatory research by new, young investigators. Applicants must be graduate students or young investigators within three years of completing their PhD or first MD residency. The awardee will receive a certificate and $1,000 at the annual meeting. While encouraged, membership in the MCS is not a requirement.

Applications should include:
(1) A letter of nomination from a regular member of the Society. Additional letters of support are encouraged.
(2) A manuscript suitable for publication in Microcirculation. 
(3) A current CV.

Application materials are due to the Chair of the Awards Committee, Dr. Phoebe Stapleton by December 9th of each year. The award will be presented at the annual MCS meeting held in conjunction with Experimental Biology.

August Krogh

August Krogh


2016 Recipient
Travis M. Doggett, LSU Health Sciences Center

Find out more about Dr. Doggett